Spare a moment

dandelionfinal.png

Dandelion, is my father going to be bald?

This week I decided to spare a moment going back to a wonderful childhood memory. There’s a Portuguese belief and a game that we play when we are children and it goes like this. You will need two players at least. First, one of the players asks: “Is your father going to be bald?” Then he blows with one breath the dandelion’s seeds and they both wait for the answer. Well, if all the seeds fly on, you know your father is going to be bald. Then they switch. These are moments of pure expectation and laughter. I still play it with my kids.

I know there are different beliefs about the power of dandelion’s seeds. Would you like to share any thoughts on this? I would love to read them! I’ve read that if you blow all the seeds with one big breath you will find your true love and the dandelion seeds will carry your thoughts to a loved one.

Spare

15 thoughts on “Spare a moment

  1. thanks for sharing. i love dandelion clocks! they make for some interesting photos, and they remind me a lot of my childhood, too.
     
    growing up i remember making wishes and blowing at the seeds to make them fly away. there may have been fairies involved, although i don’t remember all the details anymore. anyhow, there was a discussion about them in my corner of cyberspace a couple of years ago – including the use of the term clock to describe them, which i had never heard before. i grew up calling them dandelion puffs.
     
    feel free to check out the comments at my link – which is more about dandelion clocks/puffs than the post itself 🙂
     
    haven’t come up with anything for ‘spare’ yet, and it’s pouring buckets outside. not conducive for looking for some photo ops outside, so will take a look through the archives….

    Liked by 2 people

    • Aw, you will come up with something for sure! In Portuguese we call these dandelion plants: “dentes de leão” (in English “lion’s teeth”) and I have no clue why they are called like this in my country… 🙂 Thank you for sharing your thoughts too and I will have a look at your post about this. Have a lovely weekend, Kris!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Spare (Tree) | What's (in) the picture?

Leave a Reply

